Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 13, 2004, 5:53 AM   #1

Last summer, I thought I knew exactly what I wanted in a digital camera: something reasonably compact, manual controls a must, used CF or SD and non-proprietary battery.

I had found it all in the Canon A70. But I never got around to buying it.

This summer, I'm back on the digicam hunt. I actually purchased a Casio QV-R51. It was pocketable, had a nice big LCD screen, took good pictures, used SD and AA batteries, had some manual controls, everything I thought I wanted, but alas, my heart simply was not content (not enough manual, no AV out, no movie w/sound, highest photo quality still used too much compression - in conjunction with noise, I could see problems on any pictures over 1600x1200).

So, this is what I think I want:
  • Must be under $400 by mid-August (I'm a poor college student )

Image quality is the MOST important thing (TIFF not necessary but the JPEG compression better not noticeable)

At least 3x optical zoom; digital zoom will never be used

I've decided that being very compact is not so important. I'm going to need both hands to hold the camera still during a shot, so I don't want to feel like I'm working with a tiny surgical instrument, and how often am I going to stash my camera in my pocket anyway?

Manual everything is a MUST (by that I mean the usual, i.e. focus, white balance, exposure, shutter, aperture)

CF or SD only (I object to MS on principle otherwise and xD is not being widely adopted)
    -----edit-----
    I have decided that since I don't currently own any other consumer electronics that use memory cards, it wouldn't be so terrible to buy MS or xD, although when I want to get another digicam I'll be more swayed to get something that can reuse them
    -----end edit-----

AA batteries only...maybe (if EVERYTHING about a camera is right and it uses proprietary, I might still consider it)