Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 14, 2004, 6:14 AM   #1

Hello,

after reading a lot I tried 2 DigiCams and made up my mind what I am looking for in a DigiCam. So I thought I post it here and would like to ask you for opinions what recent model to get (if there is any). Thanks in advance.

What I tested so far: Fuji F700, Canon S1 IS

What am I looking for:
  • coming from "traditional photography" (Minolta Dynax 500si, 38-70mm SLR) I want comparable or better image quality. I found the image quality of the Canon S1 IS (3.2mPix, ISO 50) good enough for me, so this or better. Fuji F700 is not my taste because the ISO200 and the high image compression - a shame! Otherwise a cute little cam![/*]
  • I am a photographer to take all kinds of shots. Landscape/Buildings as well as macro objects and the usual family/friends/sports/vacation shots. So no high speed sports, but fast action required - you know: kids are moving fast and don't neccessarily respond to "stand still for next 5 seconds" So the camera should focus FAST and ACCURATE in ANY LIGHT CONDITION, including dim/low light (what I mean with that? When the camera can take ISO 400 shots at 1/30 sec I expect the AF to produce a sharp picture.) Canon S1 IS definitely CAN'T do that. Fuji F700 can very well.[/*]
  • Furthermore I want to be able to shoot some sequences to pick best shot (lets say 5 picks of a moving action and pick the one where no eyes half closed and a 3rd person was in picture - you got the idea)[/*]
  • Zoom range 35-70mm is common to me: that or better, good tele with image stabilizer would be a dream, best combined with image stabilizer(Canon S1 IS superb). I can deal when wide is only around 35..38mm IF a panorama assist program is onboard. Want that anyway and toyed with the one in the Canon S1 IS - enough for my needs.[/*]