Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Sep 14, 2002, 6:11 PM   #1

Default Recording Mode & Pixels

I'm a newbie in case you don't see that big NEWBIE sign on my forehead!!

I purchased an Oly C-2100 and just LOVE it!! (Thanks Steve's Digicam Reviews!!) I have tried to figure out which recording mode, TIFF or JPEG, is best for printing photos. In JPEG, I also have choices of: SHQ, HQ & SQ!! The setting I've been using is HQ at 1600x1200.

Also, is there some place that I can see a chart that shows what pixel size is best for what sized print? For example, can 500x375 pixel size make a decent 4x6" photo? Will 1600x1200 make good 8x10s? I already admitted I was a newbie!!

Thanks for any help,

Karen

[Edited on 9-14-2002 by KarenS]
KarenS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 14, 2002, 6:28 PM   #2

Default Print size

TIFF files are very large and limit the amount of photos you can take before downloading. JPG is a TIFF file that has been compressed using less space. I take pictures in SHQ mode and it alwyas has provided excellent pictures. The HQ is also an excellent mode for pictures. Kodak has an excellent program for printing phots and will autosize the photos for you. Click the link on Steves Digicam software and then go to printing software. There is a link there for the Kodak software. The Kodak software is free. There are 72 pixels to an inch.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2002, 1:55 AM   #3

What is 72 pixels to an inch? Right now my monitor is set at about 80 pixels/inch (19 inch/18 viewable at 1154x864). Just about nothing is 72 pixels per inch except default values that have no meaning.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 15, 2002, 9:12 AM   #4

Default Pixel and resolution