Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jul 7, 2004, 6:17 PM   #1
csi

I just got the S7000 and I am trying to play with the shutter speed and aperature but the instruction manual is pretty vague on how to use it. I am new to the whole digital camera thing but from what I have read a fast shutter speed would be 1/4000 of a second. If I am reading the numbers correctly on my Fuji S7000 I can only get the shutter speed down to 1 (no idea what that means) and as high as 1000 (again no idea what that means. Secondly is it possible to set the Shutter and Aperature or is one automatic based on the other.Any help would be greatly appreciated.
csi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 7, 2004, 8:18 PM   #2
Administrator

First of all, it's doubtful that you'll ever be in lighting conditions that you'll be able to use a shutter speed as fast as your camera is capable of. It may be limiting it, based on ISO Speed, Resolution, etc.

The shutter speed and aperture combination the camera uses is designed to insure proper exposure of the image, based on the lighting conditions you are in. So, if the camera is picking a slower shutter speed, then the light must require it for proper exposure.

For example: if it is using 1/30 second shutter speed for proper exposure, and it tried to use 1/1000 instead, then the photo would be totally black (not enough light hitting the CCD Sensor).

Think of it's electronic CCD sensor as film. It must open the shutter just long enough to properly expose the image. If it opens it too long, the image will be too bright (washing out details). If it does not open it long enough, then the photo will be too dark.