Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jul 23, 2004, 7:21 PM   #1

Hi.

This is yet-another-post concerning buying a digital camera. However, I made a dig under other ppl's posts, trying to find someone in the same situation as me, but couldnt find any - so I chose to start one.

I have no experience at all on photography. Ok, I take my pictures as mostly everyone does, on parties, holidays, etc. But on a point-and-shoot way, without any concern xcept making sure everything I want is on the photo.

I don't need a camera, but I want one. Why? Because I want to learn, to improve. I don't aim on becoming a photo professional (well one never knows what life brings up, but at least not at the moment..) but I want to take it as a hobby, and make some photos I can feel happy and proud about.

Taking all my boring rant in account, I want to buy a digital cam that doesn't tie me up into automatic modes and point-and-shoot addict. I want a cam that allows me to control what I'm doing, so I can actually *learn* about what I am doing, and get better and better photos. Not a fully professional XPTO cam, but something in the mid-term. Something in the learning curve, with room for improvement, not just an automatic shooter. I think I made my point? So if anyone can help me and give me some hints on what to choose, or even how to choose/start, it would be extremely appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
ZuCa
ZuCa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 23, 2004, 7:38 PM   #2

There are many cameras that allow you to start with point & shoot fully automatic, and then migrate to scene modes (things like landscape, portrait, night, sports), and then to Program (P), and Aperture (A), Shutter (S), and finally Manual (M).