Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Sep 23, 2002, 3:15 PM   #1

Default Need a good high speed camera. Help!

Hello,

I am looking to find a good camera for taking pictures of Motorcycles screaming by between speeds of 60-100 mph. My current crappy digital camera (Toshiba PDR) wont do it without being fuzzy, i think it has to do with shutter speed. I am wondering what people's opinions are as far as what camera is best for taking shots of fast moving objects. Also, good night shots would be a plus too. I am a total beginner, so any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Dave
madbustedplastic is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 23, 2002, 4:10 PM   #2

A different camera won't help unless a larger max aperture or higher ISO result in higher shutter speeds under the same lighting conditions.

Technique can matter as much as the camera. Try panning along with the moving motorcycles. With a little practice you'll get a sharp motocycles and blurred background which accentuates the perception of motion.
padeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2002, 4:27 PM   #3

Default Blurry Pics

I agree with Steve. Panning with the action flow can produce some great shots. It takes a little practice but the technique is easy.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2002, 4:27 PM   #4

Something to consider, are the shots motion blurred or focus blurred? Can you post an example of what you're trying to fix?
padeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2002, 4:43 PM   #5