Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 2, 2004, 9:09 AM   #1

Hi there!
I have been browsing your forum for some time and it looks very informative.I have been into photography for a while now and have only recently got into Digital Photography, but I am still quite new to all this so I hope you don't make too much fun when I display my lack of knowledge!!!

I am looking to start taking portrait & landscape photographs, are there any tips that would help in getting my pictures sharp and proficient.
Viper is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 2, 2004, 12:41 PM   #2

A tough question.

You don't say what camera you use, so I can't help you there.

For landscape photography the best way to get sharper pictures is to use a tripod. It also forces you to slow down, which is often a good thing. It makes you think about what you are actually shooting and why. What is it that made you stop and take that picture... something did, so you have to figure out what. Once you do that, then you have to figure out how to emphasise that. Was it a building? The expanse of the view? A group of people on a bench? The light coming through the trees?

You might find this interesting, if a bit more serious than you might be:

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/es...tracting.shtml

It's just a good web site to read in general.

Sorry I can't help you on potraits.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 2, 2004, 1:31 PM   #3

I don't do much with portraits, but i do have some ideas.

The eyes are an incredibly important part of a photo. The convey easily as much and more than the rest of the face. Try to be aware of what they are communicating. You can create discord or harmony with them the way that you can with color.

Try hard to not make the model stare into the sun, you just get squinting and a strained pose. This is what the fill flash is for.

Set exposure and focus, then get snap when the subject is right.