Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 14, 2004, 3:34 AM   #1

I am a complete photography newbie and just got a Cannon Digital Rebel and was wondering if you all could suggest some books for me to read up on as far as general photography info?

Only photo experience is with a Sony P-9 digital point and shoot.

I tend to pick things up quickly so a book with a good depth of knowledge would be great

Thanks guys

Tabb

tabbytabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 14, 2004, 3:57 AM   #2

Start here:
http://209.196.177.41/

That is an online "book" that covers the basics about digital photography, including more advanced topics.

The best thing you can do though (after reading all your manuals) is go out and shoot...get lots of practice in. Try different settings for the same shot.
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2004, 4:07 AM   #3

Mike, thanks very much for the link. And good advice, I plan on shooting a ton once my camera gets here

I got a couple gigs of memory cards so that should keep me going!

Thanks again

Tabb
tabbytabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2004, 11:18 AM   #4
Administrator

tabbytabb wrote:
Quote:
I am a complete photography newbie and just got a Cannon Digital Rebel and was wondering if you all could suggest some books for me to read up on as far as general photography info?

I highly recommend Dennis Curtin's Digital Rebel Book

steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 14, 2004, 5:10 PM   #5

Actually, the link I posted above was also written by Dennis Curtin...check it out first to see if his style of writing is right for you, but the dedicated book is a great idea.
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2004, 5:02 AM   #6

I had to respond to your post because I want to share a must-have suggestion for you...

"Real World Digital Photography" 2nd edition by Katrin Eismann, ISBN 0-321-22372-1

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg...ce&s=books