Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 24, 2004, 2:10 PM   #1

I am new to the world of digital photography and have just purchased a Dimage Z2. I bought the camera to use to take pictures for our school yearbook. I am the yearbook advisor and take most of the pictures. I was really excited about the camera but have been unable to take sport and action shots without shaking the camera. I am sure I have one of the settings wrong but have no clue. Can you please explain, in very simple and plain language, how to take a good action shot - what settings do I need to use, etc... Please remember, I have no photography background and do not understand the terminology. I would be sooooo gratful for any suggestions.
gnldickson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 24, 2004, 2:47 PM   #2
Administrator

I'll try to keep it as simple as possible.

Basically, if you are seeing what appears to be motion blur, then your shutter speeds are too slow. The camera must keep the shutter open long enough for proper exposure of the image.

When you use more zoom, the effects of camera shake are more obvious (the more zoom you use, the faster the shutter speeds will need to be).

The shutter speeds the camera will be able to use will be dependent on the amount of light available.

For outdoor sports in daylight, you can probably get the shutter speeds fast enough by using Aperture Priority Mode and selecting the largest Aperture (which is represented by the smallest f/stop number). Then, the camera will be able to select the fastest shutter speeds possible. The downside of using a larger aperture that the photos will haveless depth of field (less of the image in focus as you get further away from your focus point). But, this can also help your subject stand out.