Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 31, 2004, 9:17 PM   #1

When I look at lenses and it says 100-300mm f4.5-6.7 zoom what does this all mean?
cruiser56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 31, 2004, 10:31 PM   #2

The first set of numbers is the focal length of the lens (in this case a zoom range)...the second set is the aperture range, at full wide angle and full zoom.

If you're unfamiliar with the basics of photography, suggest you hit this site:

http://209.196.177.41/

Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2004, 10:49 PM   #3

Something else to note is that the human eye sees at the equivalent focal length to 50mm.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2004, 1:08 AM   #4

Eric - I guess it's actually 43mm....!

Klaus DK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2004, 12:26 PM   #5

hello everyone:

i also have a newbie question!i'm very new to slr cameras.

in regards to the aperature range. does a digital slr camera read the aperature range from the lens and limit the settings to the range? meaning if i put in a lens with f4.5-6.7 and go to adjust the camera aperature settings, i'll only see the 4.5-6.7 range? sothere's no way of setting an aperature on your camera that your lens does not handle?

i was also reading through some of the information from the link above. part of it stated "That's why the aperture might change from f/2.6 when zoomed out to f/4 when zoomed all the way in on a subject." ... in full manual mode, if i zoomedinall the way and left my aperature at f/2.6 (smaller aperature), what would happen to the image?

not sure if my questions make sense. i'm new to this, therefore, thinking of different scenarios in order to picture it.
cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2004, 10:23 PM   #6

Is it really 43mm? I've always read 50mm. Probably just because its the closest prime to the actual value.

Interesting....

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote