Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Sep 12, 2004, 12:17 PM   #1

Hi everyone

I am just starting out in digital photography and photography in general, i would like to get the A1 or A2. I would mainly be taking pictures of my family, friends and sporting events, along with trying some more challenging pictures.

I have just read that the A2 creates large files and slows the processing down alot and unless you are going to crop your pictures alot then you are better off with the A1 for general use.

I would be storeing the pictures on my computer and disc, I can only print upto A4 in size and I want the best quality pictures I can get. Please could anyone offer me advice and which would be the best camera for me as a beginer and very limited skills in digital photography and post processing.

Thanks for any help and advice offered.
RobT is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 12, 2004, 2:07 PM   #2

Beside the Mpixel diference (5 vs8 ), they are quite close based on the specs.
For your needs, I would go for a A1, unless the A2's price is not much higher . The 5 to 8 Mpixels step seems very high, but I don't expect the picture quality proportionnal to that ratio. You should look at both camera sample pictures to judge.
KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2004, 3:38 PM   #3

RobT wrote:
Quote:
Please could anyone offer me advice and which would be the best camera for me as a beginer and very limited skills in digital photography and post processing.
This seems to be the key sentence from what I read. The A1 or A2 are probably the most advanced Prosumer Digicams out except for DSLR's. While you can set them up to shoot using the preprogramed modes, I would not equate them with being the best camera for a beginner.