Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 8, 2004, 12:42 PM   #1

Sorry about such a basic question... I'm just getting started. I've read that I should not add a filter in front of a lens converter because it will cause various problems with the quality of the pictures (such as vigetting(??) ).

I'm hopeful that that will not stop me from using a0.8x lens converter with a Polarier filter.... is it possible to put the filter *between* the camera lens and the converter lens? And -if so- will that approach cause any picture quality issues?

I imagine that there might be some slight issues due to the fact that the converter lens is now further away from the camera lens. If so, to what degree will with quality of the picture be, assuming a fairly thin filter?

Thanks.
basquedude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 8, 2004, 4:20 PM   #2

The issue is with wide angle converters...using an extreme wide angle converter with a filter on it, or using a filter between a wide converter and a camera set to the wide end, or using a wide converter with an opening the same size or smaller than the lens can all cause vignetting.

For instance, although my lens is about 37mm across and it takes a tube that has a 55mm thread, with the camera at wide angle it can vignetting if I put a filter in between the lens and the 55mm thread of the wide angle converter.

But there's another issue with using polarizers between the converter and lens...the polarizer is one of the few filters that are actually two separate rotating pieces put together in such a way that the weight of a converter lens could actually pull the two sections apart and send your lens falling to the ground. If you do use a polarizer like this, you should support the weight of the converter with your hand so that the polarizer doesn't break apart.
Mikefellh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 10, 2004, 10:59 AM   #3

Thanks Mikefellh,