Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 15, 2004, 11:36 AM   #1

Hi,

I am a newbie. I wanted to buy a professional camera for my wife's bday. She wanted a digital professional camera that takes 5 x 5 or 4 x 4 size picture. Does any one have any recommendation?

I could not even look for one available!!!!!

Help
hungb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 15, 2004, 12:16 PM   #2

Not sure I understand what you want.

Do you mean a camera with a 4*4 or 5*5 sensor? If so, you are into large format backs and some really serious cash outlay. 20K$-30k$ is not out of order for one of those. Medium format backs are not far behind in price.

I would suggest looking at the DSLR lines, they take really good images nowadays, and easily make 8*10 and larger prints. You can always crop if you want square prints.

PeterP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2004, 12:48 PM   #3
Administrator

You need to be much more specific about what you want.

Are you referring to print sizes? If so, Centimeters, Inches, or Feet?

What do you mean by "professional"? I she selling prints for a living? If so, what type (portraits, landscapes, etc.)?

Does she already have lenses for a given manufacturer? What kind of camera is she using now?

Do you have a budget in mind?
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2004, 7:17 PM   #4

yes sirs,

I mean the print size of 4 inch by 4 inch, like professional prints for weddings and stuff. I am expecting that it probably expensive. I am thinking about 4-5k dollars? But I don't know what camera will give that size of the prints. I think she wants the square prints.

She's an amature but we have a new baby and she wants a good camera!!!!
hungb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 15, 2004, 8:21 PM   #5

I'd probably double that budget...for the medium format camera itself you're spending at least $5000, and then for the digital back another $5000.