Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 17, 2004, 10:11 AM   #1

I'm trying to decide between the Sony P150 and the Panasonic FX7, but I think my question is better under newbie help than which camera to buy.

After looking at Steve's sample pics, I see that the P150 has less noise but the colors are dull and flat. The FX7 has great colors, but there are artifacts.

My question: Would be easier for me to fix the saturation problem or the noise problem? I have Photoshop CS. What are the best methods for doing so?

I'm no pro, just a mom who takes lots of indoor shots of her kids (point-n-shoot). I don't want to have to spend a lot of time processing the pics after I take them. But of course, there's no perfect camera. Almost all my pics will be printed 4x6, so I don't know if noise will be a big issue for me. Any thoughts?

Sorry in advance if I posted in the wrong forum! I hunted around the forums for an answer but didn't find anything that specifically addressed this problem.
nlsnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 17, 2004, 11:48 AM   #2

(You refer to "noise problems" in the subject, but in the post you refer to artifacts. I assume you mean the same thing.)

While it is easy to remove noise with software (neat image and noise ninja both do a great job) noise destroys detail. The more noise you have, the less actual detail you have (what neat image and noise ninja do is calculate what it thinks should be at that pixel that is noise, and then replace it. In many cases it works well, in many it doesn't.)

So while I find that it is easy to remove noise with software, you generally product a better picture when you don't have to remote noise but are only altering contrast or saturation.

To answer you second question, there is an explicit command for adjusting saturation. I believe it is titled "hue, saturation, …." and something I forget. It is fairly easy to use.