Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 2, 2004, 12:49 PM   #1

i had this as part of another discussion, however, i wanted to seperate it to avoid any confusion...here was my post...

i also have a newbie question!i'm very new to slr cameras.

in regards to the aperature range. does a digital slr camera read the aperature range from the lens and limit the settings to the range? meaning if i put in a lens with f4.5-6.7 and go to adjust the camera aperature settings, i'll only see the 4.5-6.7 range? ordo i adjust the aperature setting on the lens? if so, if i choose a aperature priority setting, how does the cameraknwo whichshutter speed would be appropriate?!

i was also reading through some of the informationfrom atutorial on lenses. part of it stated "That's why the aperture might change from f/2.6 when zoomed out to f/4 when zoomed all the way in on a subject." ... in full manual mode, if i zoomedinall the way and left my aperature at f/2.6 (smaller aperature), what would happen to the image? i'm trying to understand the direct relation with zoom and aperature.i actually found this statement:

"With zoom lenses the maximum aperture changes as you zoom the lens. It will be larger when zoomed out to a wide angle, and smaller when zoomed in to enlarge a subject."

style="BACKGROUND-COLOR: #000000"shouldn't it be the other way around though? if a smaller aperature offers greater depth of field, wouldn't i set a smaller aperature when i zoom out, in order to capture all the details at a wide angle? and when i zoom in, choose a great aperature to capture the details in front.

not sure if my questions make sense. i'm new to this, therefore, thinking of different scenarios in order to picture it..

cable is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 2, 2004, 2:43 PM   #2
Administrator

LOL -- that's a lot of questions. What kind of camera did you get, and what lens do you have?

I'll try to give a brief overview.