Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 18, 2002, 9:22 PM   #1

Default Need more than help

Hi All,

First of all this is a plain WONDERFUL site i discovered yesterday with massive info abt cameras!!!
Kudos to the persons managing it.

I am totally new to the world of photography/cameras...an amateur.

I am planning to buy a camera(Regular or digital anyone) and a digicamcorder but i dont know an iota about cameras and camcorders. I have about 500$ in my pocket for camera and about 1000$ for a digital camcorder.

Could you please suggest me which one would suit me in this budget... I am confused.

Any help from you guys would be great!

Thanks
Manish
mexx_freedom is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 19, 2002, 12:18 AM   #2
lg

For $500, I'd highly recommend the Olympus C-2100. Steve's Digicams has a good review and sample pics. Check out my website for more pics. I'm afraid I can't help with a camcorder...
lg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2002, 5:29 AM   #3
NHL

mexx_freedom

If you reverse your budget: $500 for digital camcorder and $1000 for digicam you'll have a much better chance of getting decent selection on both! Actually $600/$900 is more like it...

Digicam under $900
Camcorder MiniDV under $600 and Digital 8 under $600

[Edited on 6-19-2002 by NHL]
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 19, 2002, 12:37 PM   #4

Thanks Lg and NHL,

Well i have one query nhl, what would i get under 500$ for a digicamcorder? I saw a good pocket size latest model for about 1200$ but nothing decent for about 600$.

Pls let me know.
And so i guess c2100 is the best option as lg says...how much does one have to shell out on its accessories and all? if u know pls let me knwo too.

And is it right that the higher the megapixels the better the camera?
Then olympus 2100 is just 2.1 megapixels!!

pls help

thanks a lot
Old Jun 19, 2002, 3:51 PM   #5
NHL

mexx_freedom

The link worked this morning: