Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 20, 2004, 11:29 AM   #1

Hi there

I am new to digital photo and my experince is small little PS cameras. However, though it is so much fun I can now really feel the limits with PS's. Since there seem to be so many people here to give great advice I will be looking fwd to feedback. It seems like every camera shop I go to they give you almost the same advice ( Stockholm, Sweden), "Get Nikon D70 or Canon 20D".

I do not own any lenses.
I am travelling alot so I have been looking at the Pentax ist DS?
If you want to print A3 is 6-megapixels enough (but maybe not all the time)?

Thanks
Jonas
Jonas-ji is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 20, 2004, 11:42 AM   #2

I can't compare the DSLRs you mention, but you might read through the reviews.
http://www.steves-digicams.com/hardware_reviews.html
http://dpreview.com/ (on the left under "Cameras")
http://www.imaging-resource.com/MFR1.HTM
http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/cameraList.php
http://www.megapixel.net/html/issueindex.php?lang=en

A 6Mp camera will make a very nice A3 print. You get some deterioration with cropping as 6Mp is on the cusp of best reproduction at that size. More pixels would be only very slightly better either printed professionally or with a current state of the art photo printer.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 3:11 PM   #3

I've done a ton of research and went with teh D70 and am VERy happy. The D70 is the best camera made under $4000.
Grinder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 3:33 PM   #4

Thanks Slipe. Thats good input. I will do just fine with a 6 megapixel camera
Grinder I might go with the D70. Thanks to you both

Jonas

Old Dec 21, 2004, 5:32 PM   #5

Grinder is trying to start a fight :-)

Merry Christmas
Wildman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2004, 7:32 PM   #6