Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 4, 2002, 12:13 PM   #1

Default Is it cheaper to produce your own pictures?

I'm new at this and I have tried to go through the historical articles to find the answer to this question but have not been successful. I've purchased a Canon S30 (which is great) and have begun snapping pictures all over the place. To have these pictures developed at WalMart is about 45 cents a picture. While at WalMart I noticed that I can buy 60 sheets of 4X6 photo paper for around $7. That equates to a little over 10 cents that I would be spending on the paper. I suspect the real costs are in the printer ink. I ran a couple of pictures through my printer (an HP G55) and got terrific results. What I don't know is how many pictures (generally) can be produced before the cartridges need to be replaced. The color cartridge on the HP G55 is around $30. That would mean I should be able to print off at a minimum 100 pictures to break even. Would running my own pictures be less than printing them at WalMart? Thanks for your help.
Harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 4, 2002, 12:24 PM   #2

First, I would not buy the 4X6 photo paper. You can buy the 8.5X11 for near the same cost and double your printer paper. Office Depot, Office Max, etc often have sales buy one get one free. Go to this link on Steve's web site and download the free Kodak printing software:
http://www.steves-digicams.com/digso..._printing.html

Cost will vary on ink cost. I have calculated that my ink cost are about 10 cents a page. I do refill my own ink cartridges. You can see the discussion at this post:
http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=4159.
Cost of ink without refilling would be closer to 60 cents a page for the ink.

I like printing my own pics because I can print what I want.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 4, 2002, 11:25 PM   #3

Default 45 cents?