Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 4, 2005, 9:39 AM   #1

Hi,

I am quite new to Digital photography but not new to photography. I am looking for a book much like, Basic Photography ~ Michael Langford, which is one of my favorite traditional photography books. But for digital.

Which are your favorites?
grant.smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 4, 2005, 11:19 AM   #2

Grant,

From a photography perspective, there is very little difference between digital and film. Rules of composition, F-stops, ISO, etc all still apply. The only real difference in-camera is adjustments your camera may have for color, sharpness, etc. That and the fact most cameras can display a histogram so you can get a very good read on whether your picture was over or under exposed.

The real difference comes in post-processing - i.e. the 'digital darkroom' where you manipulate the pictures on your computer. For books on that topic, it is best to get a book designed for the software package you will be using for your photo editing. Do you know what package you will be using? Paint Shop Pro and Adobe Photoshop Elements are 2 great software packages to start out with. Photoshop Elements has the advantage of having more books available.
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2005, 11:59 AM   #3

I will be using Photoshop CS, I agree on the points but I am still vague on what white balance is and how to read the histogram? Maybe you can point me to a site that explain these things and then suggest a book for photoshop?
Old Jan 4, 2005, 12:22 PM   #4

The Art of Adventure Photography by the late Galen Rowell.

It is not a dig book.

Its lessons still apply to dig.

Search for it on Amazon if you like.

You will not be disappointed.

If you are, you can mail me the book.

I will pay your purchase price minus your shipping for book and to this forum member.

digcamfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 4, 2005, 2:03 PM   #5