Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 24, 2005, 12:29 AM   #1

Hi,

Newbie here! I've taken several pictures indoors where I've used zoom and the pictures come out very dark, even with flash. Is there any way to take brighter pictures with zoom?

Also, can someone please explain the shutter speed to me [its purpose, how to adjust it] and what "f2.8, etc" is for?

Thanks so much.
bebegrl is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 24, 2005, 7:43 AM   #2

There are others on the site that can give you a more technically accurate description of f-stop and shutter speed but I'll take a cut at putting it in layman's terms.

shutter speed (1/30, 1/60, 1/200 etc) is the length of time in seconds that the shutter stays open exposing your medium (film or sensor) to light. The faster the shutter speed, the better the ability to 'stop' action.

Aperture refers to how wide the 'iris' of the lense opens up. This aperture setting is displayed as an f-stop. Technically an f-stop is the ratio of the camera's aperture width to the focal lenght of the lense. It is displayed in increments of f1.0, f1.4, f2.0, f2.8 etc... Here is a confusing part, the LARGER the aperture (i.e. larger the opening) the SMALLER the f-stop. So, f1.0 is the largest aperture. Another important fact is, the larger the aperture, the shallower your depth-of-field (DOF) becomes. Depth of field refers to how much of your image remains in focus. When you see photos (common in sports) where the subject is clearly in focus but the background is blurred - this is a shallow depth of field (produced by a greater aperture or smaller f-stop). When you look at most panoramas or say a picture of the grand canyon where everything seems in focus this is produced by a very high f-stop so you have a greater depth-of-field.