Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 19, 2002, 10:37 AM   #1

Default Total newbie needs help with Minolta Dimage 7i

Hi there, I am a total newbie to the concept of digital photograpy. Before this year, the last time I used a camera seriously was about 30 years ago! In those days I was using a Leica M3, a wide angle Rollieflex and a very early Pentax Spotmatic!

These days I am running a website for members of the Queen's Life Guard (The Household Cavalry Mounted Regiment) at http://www.hcmr-photos.org.uk. We have been providing up to date (and very amateur) digital images of the QLG.

For the first two months I was using a borrowed, conventional, compact camara (Nikon Lite Touch 70W Zoom) and scanning in the photographs. Now we have a new Minolta Dimage 7i and I have been learning how to use it this week.

Could any please point me in the right direction to find a decent tutorial on how to use this excellent camera, or offer any advice on the results so far. I especially need help on the longer shots and how to get the best focus and sharpness. I use Photoshop 7 to prepare the images for the website.
amcbryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 19, 2002, 10:57 AM   #2

Try the Shortcourses web site: http://www.shortcourses.com/
It will provide you insight to world of digital photography.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2002, 12:18 PM   #3

Default Newbie needs help

:P Thanks for your advice, I have been visiting tutorial websites and doing a lot of reading on the subject. The great thing about digital is is, I can take lots of practise shots and not worry about the cost of film or processing!
Old Nov 19, 2002, 12:36 PM   #4

Arthur

You are correct, the more shots the merry. You do not even have to print if you do want to. Email, post on web sites, burn cds to provide others with your pics.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 19, 2002, 1:56 PM   #5