Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 8, 2005, 11:51 AM   #1

I recently bought a Canon A85. I'm new to the digital camera stuff but the guy at the camera shop where I bought it adjusted the settings for me. He told me to keep it in the Program mode (P). The red-eye reduction is always on, but in nearly every photo I've taken, everyone's got glowing red eyes. Is the camera faulty? Am I doing something wrong? I wonder if it's a common problem for the A85. Can anyone recommend a setting to fix this? Thanks in advance for your help.
Boldstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 8, 2005, 2:40 PM   #2
Administrator

As a general rule, the closer a flash is to a camera's lens, the greater the potential for redeye.

The best way to reduce it is with a camera using an external flash, located further away from the lens.

With a small camera, your best bet is to correct it with software when it occurs.

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2005, 11:50 AM   #3

Thanks for your advice JimC. But I was really hoping to find a way to adjust the camera settings to help. You'd think a red-eye reduction setting would reduce red-eye.

My problem with the software method is the inability to upload the pictures back to the memory card. To my knowledge it can't be done that way. And without a CD burner I'm kinda screwed for getting the pictures printed at the local Wal-Mart. (I suppose there's always the email option.)

Thanks anyway.
Old Feb 9, 2005, 1:28 PM   #4