Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 29, 2002, 5:08 AM   #1

Default Just bought my first digital camera:Lots of newbie questions

Hi,

There is a special offer at the moment in UK where the DX4900 can be had at a bargain price. I didn't need any more nudging to go and buy myself one.

So here I am, all happy. The only problem is that I've never owned a digital camera before. I'm a total newbie. If my questions are already answered in a FAQ, feel free to send me away to read it. Any bit of info helps.

So here are a few questions for the knowledgeable amongst you:

- I'm going through the manual now but I must say that the mentions of wide balance, exposure metering, iso speed, sharpness correction, ... are somewhat bewildering when you first encounter them. Do I need to fiddle with those settings to get good looking pictures or are the default settings generally OK? When would you start changing them?

- I got an Easyshare docking station with my camera as well as the accompanying Rechargeable batteries. Should those batteries always be totally emptied before being recharged? Similarly, is it safe to interrupt the charge midway through and restart it later on or do the batteries suffer from a memory effect?

- Do you always take pictures at the highest resolution or do you find that you can happily go down in resolution for certain picture types?

- What kind of rule of thumb do you use to switch from the close up portrait mode to the far away landscape one? What's the cut off between the 2?