Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 3, 2002, 6:25 AM   #1
Stu

Default Image size

I'm pretty new to digi phtography ,so please bear with me!,
I have a Minolta s404 which is a 4 megapix camera , most of the pics I take I like to print out at approx 7 x 5 in. ( handy for showing to family and friends etc. ) but if I use the full 4 megapix setting obvoiusly I get a huge image that I have to resize downwards, my question is ... is it better to do it as described or would I be better taking the pictures at a smaller image size to start with so that they wouldn't need resizing?
TIA

Stu
Stu is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 3, 2002, 7:09 AM   #2

A good basic rule is to shoot at the highest resolution and lowest JPEG compression (largest file size) unless you have a good reason to do otherwise.
Quote:
"... so that they wouldn't need resizing"
Why are you resizing them? If you have more pixels than your printer can handle, the printer software will deal with that. I have heard of some printers producing worse images if fed too much resolution, but I think that isn't the norm and isn't much worse when it does happen.

Likely what you want to do is change the dpi without resampling, e.g., without changing the number of pixels in the image. If you are having problems printing, you should take a look at QImage. Then you just specify the output size and let the QImage deal with the rest of it. An excellent printing program plus a good handfull of batch utilities.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2002, 10:03 AM   #3

I do all my printing via MS PowerPoint. Why? well because it is completely WYSIWYG as per the screen. The print quality is unaltered and when you have finished you can also save the pics or presentation as a PP file for future retrieval.

When you insert the image it is massive of course. Just right click and size accordingly or drag and drop from the corners of the image.