Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 24, 2002, 9:28 AM   #1

Default yet another plea for help

Hi out there - another newcomer hits the site with head in a spin over digital cameras. Help! I have a six week trip coming up to Ecuador and the Galapagos, and I would like to have a new camera. I want something for stills and video, that I can bung on the computer to edit and then transfer to some kind of permenent storage. I wondered about mini DV? Any suggestions? I can probably spend about 700, and I have no experience with digital cameras...yet.
Thanks
AC
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 24, 2002, 11:41 AM   #2

I need to answer your question with many more questions. Will you be taking a computer with you or have access to one? Will you have access to power every day? What picture quality do you want? Do you want 8x10 or larger prints or just small bitmaps to display on a computer? Going underwater?

If you get a still camera you'll need to get enough memory to hold all the shots you want or download to a computer frequently. Your trip sounds very photo intensive. I'm sure you will want several hundred shots over a period of six weeks, I would. A 2.1 megapixel camera - the minimum I'd suggest if you want 8x10 prints - will fill a 128mb memory card in 100-120 shots. To me that is a modest day of shooting. If you don't have a computer to download every day you'll need a lot of memory capacity for the camera. If you capture video clips with a still camera the memory issue becomes much, much worse.

You can do still frame capture from DV but the shots will be small, 640x480. There are DV cams with dedicated still shot modes of a megapixel or more but that's still inferior to a good still camera.