Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 7, 2005, 3:58 PM   #1

Can anyone eplain to me what values I should be using for outdoor wildlife photography? I'm really new at this and trying to learn some basic things.
mgrogan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 7, 2005, 5:44 PM   #2

What type of wildlife?

The reason why I ask is that often wildlife requires a high shutter speed. The shot just doesn't work if it's blury.

This means that you often shoot with the largest aperture you can, or at least a large one. There are two down sides with this.
- The larger the aperture (usually) the lower the optical quality you get. There will often be distortion on the edges of the picture and some difraction. This is why it's often helpful to stop down a little bit.... Of course, you'll loose shutter speed with the smaller aperture.

- A really small DOF. The smaller the aperture the larger the DOF. The larger the aperture (smaller f-stop) the smaller the DOF. Laws of physics are involved, nothing you can do about it. The problem here is that the entire subject might not be in focus. With wildlife photography you need at least the face/eyes in focus, and hopefully more. But to get enough shutter speed to stop the action you might need a large aperture which means a small DOF (making it hard to get enough in focus.) Does that make sense?

This is partially why wildlife photographers buy the expensive lenses because they are usually optically quite good with larger apertures.