Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 11, 2002, 11:48 AM   #1

Default Compact digital camera advice needed

The more information I find, the more confused I am about which camera to buy...please help!

I am interested in purchasing my first digital camera - I am a real novice and while I love having the latest and greatest sleek gadgets, I do not need many advanced functions on a camera. I will mainly use the camera for photographs of people (indoor and outdoor) and some scenery - I can't imagine that I would need to print anything larger than a 5x7 picture. The main thing for me is that I want something EXTREMELY light. I live in NYC and often find myself wishing that I had a camera with me, however I don't want the extra weight of carrying around my somewhat heavy point & shoot...the sleekness of the Minolta Dimage Xi appeals to me. I like the size and weight of it and of course I love that it is new, but I am wondering if that is too much for me. Is that way too much to spend on a camera for the purposes that I mentioned? I hear wonderful things about the various Canon cameras, however they do seem to be a bit heavier.

Please tell me what camera I should purchase...I welcome all suggestions...
imr5191 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 11, 2002, 12:00 PM   #2

You'll be sorry if you buy an ULTRA small camera. Go a small camera like a fuji A303 or something. Small enough.
Alfisti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 11, 2002, 12:21 PM   #3