Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 17, 2005, 8:14 AM   #1

Hi there be gentle with me i am a total newbie when it comes to photography.

Heres my problem:

I have started a Dance music website and I have a gallery section. I go to loads of events so I thought I would buy a new camera and take pictures.

When your in a club the lighting is dark with flashing lights and lazers all around you.

I have the nikon coolpix 5400 camera and I wanted to know what settings I should use for these type of conditions.

I have things like

ISO
Apperture
White balance

So many arrhhh help me :?
tidy_boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 17, 2005, 10:41 AM   #2

I would set the ISO to 200 or 400, then just shoot in auto mode. The camera will figure out for itself that it needs the flash, and what exposure/wb needs to be set. An even easier way would be to just use the "party" scene mode.

Also, learn exactly how far your flash reaches, and then make sure your subjects are within that range.

The Nikon 5400 does not have a focus assist light for low light conditions, so it may very well not focus itself in those conditions. If not, then you might have to experiment with manual focus....

PhilR.
PhilR. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2005, 1:11 PM   #3

Thanks anyone else got any advice :-)
Old Apr 19, 2005, 12:21 AM   #4

If you have problems with the focus, use hyperfocal (with Aperture Priority Mode and Manual Focus).

See this website: http://www.dofmaster.com/dofjs.html

Other than that, see Phil's suggestions.
thebac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2005, 7:54 AM   #5
Administrator

When I take my little Konica KD-510z pocket camera with me to restaurants, clubs, etc., I often use a fixed focus distance of 2 meters (which isnearer than the hyperfocal distance point).