Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 15, 2002, 8:54 PM   #1

Default color a tad to the "yellowish" side..........

I recently purchased an Olympus E20. I'm kind of noticing it seems to be taking some pictures a bit to the "yellow" side. I have a red and white aluminum siding house and the red is just a touch off the real color. Maybe a bit towards the orange side. Not that bad, just a touch. I'm basically a rookie with cameras, just wondering is this a white balance thing? i've tried it on auto setting and i've manually set it and get the same results. Do you think i just need to learn the camera? The reason i say that is because before this camera i had an Olympus 2040Z and i've taken basically the same pic of the house and it's true to color. Just wondering. Thanks!!!
probert is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 15, 2002, 10:07 PM   #2

I'll assume that you are using auto white balance or are manually setting it to the appropriate light type (Sun or cloudy since you are talking about the side of your house).

Try different white balance settings. Aslo remeber that different camears will probably see colors in a different way. It's just like color film. They have different balances to them, even if you are looking at day light balanced films.
jsmeeker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2002, 10:46 PM   #3

Sounds suspiciously like a "cloudy conditions" white balance setting.
Alfisti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 16, 2002, 12:32 AM   #4

I don't know if your camera has a manual white balance setting... mine lets me use a white card or paper to let the camera sample what white is in current lighting conditions.

Take a look at your owner's manual for an entry on manual white balance...

Many Canons allow shooting in a propietary format that lets you alter white balance, saturation and sharpness after the shot is taken... your camera might also lrt you do this.
Wildman is offline   Reply With Quote