Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 13, 2005, 6:02 AM   #1

I've got SONY DSC F-717 and also a lens (KEPCOR High-Tech AF Video Teleconverter 2.0X 49mm (MPL) Japan).

Im new in this photography filed. I've come to know about this aperture, shutter and ISO through this forum. Im interested in this landscape photography. Do you people think my camera is good enough? It's cybershot 5 mega pixels.

Took the picture yesterday
Attached Images

FriedDust is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 13, 2005, 6:04 AM   #2

another picture taken this afternoon.
Attached Images

FriedDust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2005, 10:44 PM   #3

You want to know if your camera is good enough. If you are happy with the pictures it takes, it is good enough. That camera first came out in 2002, I think, so it's not the newest. However, it is still very capable. It has some very nice low light ability.

One of the guys who writes a column which is linked to Steve's front page, owned this camera and raved about it. http://www.steves-digicams.com/smp/07282002.html Actually he owned the 707, the predecessor to the 717.

So you have a 5 megapixel camera with a 10X optical zoom (if you use the teleconverter) and the ability to takegood pictures in low light. Sounds like a good deal to me. Learn how to use it well. Read the manual. Check the reviews of it. Experiment. Then, maybe, you will ready to uprade.
robbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2005, 8:09 PM   #4

The 717 is a great camera. I took 3000 pictures with mine in a little over a year. I'm not so sure about the extra lens though. I tried a 2x lens "Digital Optics" and it was worthless (Very dark). You get what you pay for. Iuse it as a magnifying glass now. I Then bought the Sony lens and it workedpretty good but it's slow.