Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 26, 2002, 2:21 PM   #1

Default Digital vs Film Question

:roll:
I’m looking to replace my stolen Olympus C-3040z digital camera. Before I buy though, I have two very basic questions:

1. Why did my images in my digital camera not quite live up to the images in my film camera (Canon Sure Shot Z135)? Often (not even most of the time) my digital image’s colors were muted relative to the same image on the cheaper film camera (converted to digital images of similar resolution). The film image was more consistantly “realistic” than the digital.

2. Would a higher resolution (5megapixel) camera capture more realistic colors?

I take tourist pictures and expect realistic capture of the colors.

Thanks for your assistance.
WayneH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 26, 2002, 6:06 PM   #2

Default Digital vs film question

Hi WayneH,

I'm not an expert in this field but the main reason your digital images were nothing like your film images is the way they are recorded. Film will always give superior results to digital pictures as it has the capacity to do so in the way it is made up of light sensitive crystals. Digital pics on the other hand are recorded by a CCD or Charge Coupled Device which is made up of rows and rows of regular shaped dots. A five megapixel camera won't get you any closer to regular film quality as the images are still recorded the same way but you will get much more detail and be able to print out larger photos from your printer. Unfortunately digital pics will always have muted colours and have a 'softness' to them.

Rimbo 8)
rimbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2002, 6:06 PM   #3

Did you print your own digital camera pictures or have them processed professionally? If you printed them yourself, what kind of printer did you use?

Take a few files to Wal-Mart and see how they look when professionally printed.
Wildman is offline   Reply With Quote