Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 28, 2002, 12:07 PM   #1

Default Kodak EasyShare DX4330 -or- Canon PowerShot A40 -pleasehelp!

Hi everyone
I am fairly new to digital cameras and certainly do not know everything there is to know about them but ive got some mooney together and have managed to narrow it down to these 2 cameras.

Thing is they both look very good but i cant decide and was hoping people who know their stuff could push me in the right direction

Here are the links where i would buy the cameras from:

Kodak EasyShare DX4330

Canon Powershot A40

It would be nice to be able to have some control over the camera but as its my first camera im not aiming for something really professional just yet!

If anyone thinks there are better cameras than these two for similar prices please let me know!

Thanks,
deanimate is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 29, 2002, 3:15 PM   #2

Anyone?
Old Dec 29, 2002, 3:36 PM   #3

The Kodaks usually have better prices per megapixel, but fewer features. They are OK if you are sure you will not want the features before you tire of the camera. They tend to exaggerate colors.
The A40 has a focus-assist lamp, shutter speeds and variable ISO that allow good night shots without flash, the ability to add filters and accessory wide angle and telephoto lens attachments, the ability to easily 'stitch' pictures together to form a panorama, good flash coverage.
The downside to the Canon is that it 'may' require the focus 'patch' from Canon, that some units have a misaligned lens (causes one side or the other of a picture to be blurred), and they 'bloom' (smear) at some high contrast boundaries (buildings or trees against a bright sky or bright white objects in flash pictures).
MentorRon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2002, 4:24 PM   #4

Thanks Ron
Overall even though largely it will for point and shoot purposes i would like to be able to change a few features to experiment etc