Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 8, 2005, 1:34 PM   #1

I am new at the VCD world. I have a Sony Mavica CD500 that is great. I have mpg movies that I would to play on my DVD. Ican get the files on a CD however, the DVD does not read and since learned I need a VCD format. I am looking forhelp - education. I have search the net - tried some shareware - and no luck. Any help would be appreciated.

Peril is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 13, 2005, 9:13 PM   #2

Are you sure your camera produces VCD-compliant MPEGs?

What have you tried so far?

S1Artiste is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2005, 8:34 AM   #3

I did double check the owners manual and it does state " You can create Video CDs using commercially avaible CD-r. For details, see the 'ImageMixer' help files. However using ImageMixer, I have no success. I was able to create a CD-R but the CD had multiple directiores and my DVR did not read it. I am havea GoVideo DVR4000 which is VCD compliant.
Old Jun 14, 2005, 7:43 PM   #4

I've never used the software you mentioned. You could check out the trial version of VCDEasy (do a search) and see if you get anywhere. Many of the CD burning apps, such as NERO- which I recommend, have a pretty basic (ie. easy to work with) module for authoring a VCD. You drag and drop your mpegs and if they're compliant it will author the disk in such a way that your DVD player will recognize it as a VCD.

Old Jun 14, 2005, 9:17 PM   #5

Good Evening. I did try VCD Easy. It seemed to work well and I had a disc with multiple directories. VCD Built the disc but my DVD could not read the disc and I could not bring up the menu. So I am at a loss. I also tried TMPGEnc trial version. This software told me the MPG files were too large 640x 480 instead of 320 x 240. So that was a no go. I will look at the other software you mentioned.

Have a good evening!
Old Jun 15, 2005, 8:08 AM   #6