Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 10, 2005, 1:01 AM   #1

I'm new to the digital world ( just got D70) and looking for advice in 2 areas:

1) software: do I need Photoshop? My Nikon comes with PictureProject. If I'm not planning on doing major editing, do I need anything more?

2) where can i learn some basics about digital photography? I'm pretty good in auto mode, but would like to understand more.

Thanks!
JLGas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 10, 2005, 5:15 AM   #2

Photoshop is a great tool which allows you to do a lot more with your pictures than Picture Project. You don't need it but something other than the Nikon software is worth having.

Nikon View is a free download from the Nikon website and IMHO much better than Picture Project.

Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2005, 7:14 AM   #3

Editing Software:

One of the other benefits to using Photoshop is there are a LOT of people using it - so there is help everywhere - lots of books, websites etc. You can get photoshop Elements for $99 - it's a very good investment.

Books: A local library is a great place to start. Even older books that were written for film still apply - exposure is exposure - your DSLR has ISO, aperture, shutter speed, exposure compensation just like a film DSLR. A solid understanding of how those 4 factors work will go a long way to getting you out of auto mode on the camera. Once you start to understand those concepts start using your histogram on your camera - it is one of the greatest benefits of digital over film. The picture on any camera LCD is often too small to be of great use for checking exposure - the histogram on the other hand is great for that. Here is a link that should prove beneficial in understanding the histogram

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/tu...stograms.shtml
JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2005, 10:28 AM   #4

I can vouch for Elements. I have version 3 and love it.