Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 28, 2005, 2:51 PM   #1

When I eventually get my camera I want to try my hand at sports photography. At the moment, due to a lack of lenses and a digital camera I have been stuck to family shots so I have no experience at all of sports photography. My question;

Should I get a lense with zoom or gho for a fixed one(prime?)? I know a fast lens is necessary for sports photography, so is it worth going for the cheaper prime lens and having to work within the one focal point or getting one with zoom for the same price that wouldn't be as fast?
Buceph is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 28, 2005, 11:51 PM   #2

It really depends on several things.

What sport you're taking pictures of. How big are your subjects? Racing mice or racing cars? How close will you be? 10 feet? 1/2 a foot ball field? How fast do they move? baseball players (who often stand still for awhile) or race cars (that go crazy speeds!) In door sports in low/bad lighting or outdoor sports during sunny days?

What your standards are. Are you willing to spend lots of money for only minor increases in quality? Are you willing to spend quality time editing gone picture to get it "just right"?

Trading zoom for focal length is a diffiult question. The zoom lets you frame the shot better which could lead to better shots and maybe better prints. Also, if you get too close, you can always zoom out and still get the shot (of course, this could be an opportunity to try something different and get that head shot, or just the driver in the car.)