Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 10, 2003, 3:41 AM   #1

Default Microdrives with the G3

As I have mentioned before, I'm going on a 5 week overseas trip. I'm now looking at getting a Canon G3. Memory has always been a concern for me, but I have just discovered the IBM microdrives.

Is this a viable solution to my concerns with not having enough space? I've read that they chew up the batteries and some people don't recommend relying solely upon the microdrives. If I was to purchase one of these I would have a 32MB flash card and the microdrive. Do you think it would be okay to rely solely on these? Also how bad are they at chewing batteries?

Also as I am totally new to the microdrive, how do you go about transferring them to a computer? Is it just the same as with a flash card?

Thanks for your help guys
Phillippa is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 10, 2003, 6:37 AM   #2
NHL

It's the same as with flash card... (or is it the other way around since the CF standard is based on hardisk legacy specification).

The device does have power saving feature, but the G3 battery is quite adequate. That's why it's always a good idea to pick a camera with NiMh AA when one plans to use a microdrive... As with any camera you should plan on bringing spare batteries.
NHL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2003, 7:17 AM   #3

There is also the limitations of a MicroDrive you have to worry about. I'm specifically thinking about the 10,000 foot limit. If you are taking a vacation to go climb a (tall) mountain you might have trouble using the MicroDrive.

They are also more sensitive to being bounced around (while in use. I assume they park their heads when not in use.) Maybe someone can talk more about this issue as I haven't use a MD, but I've read about them.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 10, 2003, 7:39 AM   #4