Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jul 16, 2005, 1:54 PM   #1

I am new to digital photography. I do not understand why when I get the pictures printed some of the picture is cut off. When I put them up on my computer screen they look fine. They ar the way I want the picture to look. But when I go to have them made up the 4x6 prints lose a little from the top of the picture and a little from the bottom. When I have tried 5x7 I lose a little on all four sides. When I tried an 8x10 I lost some of the sides.

Why does this happen and is there anything I can do to avoid this. I have an Olympus C 770. I keep the setting at SHQ for better quality pictures. The resolution is set at 2288 x 1712 like it was set when I got the camera. Tis is a 4 megapixel camera.

If anyone can tell me what I am doing wrong or what I can do to avoid this from happening I would really appreciate it. I also do not want to lose the quality of the pictures.
ken212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 16, 2005, 4:00 PM   #2

You are not doing anything wrong, it has something to do with the size of digital vs. 4 X 6. But you may be in luck. Recently when I went to Snapfish to get some 4 X 6 prints made they asked if I wanted a new process where they reproduce the whole picture, just as you see it digitally. The picture is a little bit smaller than 4 X 6, it's 4 X 5 1/4", but it gets the whole thing. I don't know if others do it, butSnapfish did and the pics came outnon cropped and well processed,tho smaller. And no, I don't work for them, just a satisfied customer.
mes444 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2005, 4:13 PM   #3