Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jul 20, 2005, 8:08 AM   #1

just ordered my S500, and now I need a SD memory card to go with it....

I am a complete newbie when it comes down to this stuff, but I do know that the memory card must have the following

1. 1GB of Memory

2. Must be super fast at reading and writing etc

Q. In terms of writting rate, what is acceptable and what is fast for a memory card e.g. how MB per sec?

Q. Does it matter what brand name that you get... because I have heard of cases of people pictures just dissapearing on cheaper cards?

Q. Is a (8 in 10 memory card reader necessary?

Please provide me with links on the best places to obtain a decent card

Thanks In advance
untitled is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 20, 2005, 8:47 AM   #2

A quick question. Can you be more specific on the camera model? The only S500 I am aware of is a Canon digital elph and it uses a CF card, not an SD card. Is that the camera you bought or is it something else?

JohnG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2005, 10:19 AM   #3

In order to provide links it would help to know what part of the world you live in.

A card reader isn't necessary as you will be able to connect your camera to your computer. A card reader is usually faster.
Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 20, 2005, 11:08 AM   #4

It would help to know what part of the world you're in like Nagasaki said. Regardless, I am a huge fan of Sandisk. I recommend the Ultra II series cards, they're great. Write speed of 9MB per second and a read speed of 10MB per second...plenty for your camera. If you're in the states, I recommend Newegg.com...they're wonderful. You can pick up the 1GB Ultra II SD card for $81.99, or if you don't think you'll need the faster card, you can get a regular 1GB SD card for $64.99. Good luck with everything!

Lexar is also a terrific company with a lot of different SD card options.