Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jul 1, 2002, 9:13 AM   #1

Default Best camera for sports photos?

I'm looking to buy a camera to take photos at my football (soccer) club during matches. I want to be able to take good 'sharp' images from 20-100 yards (or more) of players in action.

I'm not a professional photographer but I wasn't impressed with the quality of images on my last camera- the Sanyo VPC-G200E (blurry and pixelised, no zoom). I'm looking for something which isn't too costly, has a good zoom and has great clear looking images... say sized around 800x600 or more (don't have to be huge images). There is bound to be some fast movement on the pitch so the camera should be good enough to handle this.

If anyone can help me out i'd be very grateful.

Thanks, Dan
DanK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jul 1, 2002, 12:13 PM   #2

Look around for an Oly E100RS. It's discontinued but you can still find them around for good prices. I've seen them at Fry's Electronics for $400. There's a photog here who uses one and has taken some terrific sports pictures with the 100s high speed mode.
padeye is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2002, 12:45 PM   #3

Thanks i'll check it out, problem is though it could be harder to pick up in the UK. I wish I could see some of the sports photos to see how good it is.

How does the Oly C700 compare next to this camera and others? it has a x10 zoom but what are peoples views on it and other long range zoom cameras?

Also if it's not too much trouble what distances do different zoom settings cover? i.e. x3, x4, x7 etc.
Old Jul 2, 2002, 5:51 PM   #4