Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 4, 2003, 2:29 AM   #1

Default new here

hey everyone my name is charley and im new to the whole photography scene. i just had a couple of questions. i wanna take a pretty big picture of my aquarium. its 30 inches long and 14 inches high. i don't want a life size picture but a pretty big one so i can frame it up. also, im looking into purchasing a digital camera in the near future to take pics of my tank. im looking to spend around 200-300 bucks. what would be my best bet for a digi cam?
thanks
-charley
chbak014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 4, 2003, 1:11 PM   #2

The size of the tank is not an issue. Move back until it's all in. However, to prevent barrel distortion move back and use as much zoom as you can. When it comes to P&S cams (your price range) I like the Fujis.

You don't mention what size exactly you want your picture, A4, A3 etc. In your price range (2-3MP) I think you are limited to A4 and not much more to get a decent picture. You can't blow up a picture to any size without loss of quality If you want more than A4 have you got an A3 printer? or do you intend to have it printed professionally.

Another issue will be lighting. I suspect you will struggle to use the flash as this will cause reflections. A long exposure on a tripod is probably best (if the fish are still). Get as much natural light on the tank as you can to help the white balance and reduce exposure time.

Failing that try buying some halogen bulbs and put them in lamps close to the tank to illuminate it. You'll need to experiment.

I once took a photo of a picture behind glass and to stop the reflection I shot at an angle but this distorted the picture but I sorted it out with some post processing.

Not quite as simple as it sounds I'm afraid.
steve6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2003, 4:51 PM   #3

cool thanks steve.