Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 2, 2005, 9:32 PM   #1

:?I am REALLY a newbie to this whole digital camera thingie. I have a Kodak Easy Share C340. Just got it a week ago. My cats are my favorite subjects and I cannot seem to take a decent pic of them. They are always reacting to the flash that causes all the pics to show them with their eyes squinting or closed. If I turn the flash off, it is too dark of course. I know, or at least I hope, there is an easy solution to this. Any help would be appreciated.
paulareenee is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 3, 2005, 11:29 AM   #2

It sounds like you're using the red-eye-reduction option on your flash. If the flash blinks a few times, you're using this feature. That gives the cats time to react. Instead of this option, you want to use the flash setting that only flashes the flash once per picture.I glanced at an on-line version of your camera's manual. It looks likethe "fill flash" option is what they offer as the alternative. If you select that option and take a picture of the cat, you should get a single flash. However, there are various "scene" modes in the camera that will override what you choose for the flash option. If you are using one of them, you may get the multi-flash red-eye-reductioneven if you've set the flash to "fill" mode. So you may have to play with the camera a bit to find out how to get it to just flash once without warning the cats first.
tclune is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 3, 2005, 11:59 AM   #3