Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 5, 2005, 10:01 AM   #1

Can someone please explain to me (in laymans terms) what focus bracketing is exactly and how to use it?

I purchased the Canon S2 IS on the weekend and have been reading through the manual but can't seem to make much sence of this. I am new to this type of camera (I owned a simple point and shoot) and am realising that I have a lot to learn.

Thank God for formums like this one where people help each other. I've been reading through a lot of posts here and have learned quite a lot......but have much more to learn.

I love to take photos and really want to learn all this camera has to offer. So be expecting a few more questions in the future from me, because from what I've been reading the advice that everyone gives is really helpful.

Thanks
melhen is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 5, 2005, 11:46 AM   #2

melhen wrote:
Quote:
Can someone please explain to me (in laymans terms) what focus bracketing is exactly and how to use it?

Thanks

Melhen,

Here goes.

You have purchased a camera that will do many, many wonderful things for you, and when you learn them all, you will be amazed at what advanced camera's can and will do.

Focus bracketing (mode) is nothing more than the camera will take 3 pictures, with different focus settings. According to the manual, the first exposure (picture) will be taken using a manual focus position, while the next two exposures will be taken with a nearer focus and the last exposure taken using a father focus.

What this does is allow you the luxury of determining after the photos have been taken, which focus location serves YOU best.