Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 6, 2003, 5:19 PM   #1

Default Need a digital camera recommendation please...

I am looking for a digital camera that has the ability to shoot pictures at a rate of 1 per second or better. I'm a total camera novice so I need some help here. My budget is between $500-$1200. I'd like to get a good quality camera but the most important thing to me is that it shoots somewhat fast. I'm looking for something that shoots consitently (every second or less) and has a good duration, ie. it takes more than 5 shots before I have to wait for it. Don't necessarily need a camera that's going to take 10 shots in a single second. Is there such a camera? I don't even know how in the heck to tell how "fast" a camera shoots even after reading reviews and specs....what is it that I need to look for? Frames per second? I need help, please.

Van
VanBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 6, 2003, 6:00 PM   #2

Hi Van,
What you are actually describing is commonly called "shot-to-shot" speed. This varies with digital cameras depending on the "mode" that they are being used in. For example, the shot-to-shot time will be faster is you are snooting in manual mode with manual focus at infinity, than if the camera must autofocus between shots and the distance to subject changes. There are numerous variables, but essentially what you are looking for in the price range is not quite available unless you are shooting in burst mode (that is simply holding down the shutter and taking sequential shots).

The closest camera to being able to shoot at 1 second intervals for about five shots is the Olympus E10 which can still be purchased for less than $1000 at places like B&H. This does not hold true for the Olympus E20, however.