Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 11, 2003, 8:31 AM   #1

Default Hello, new to the site and also questions! :)

Hello, i've always been intrigued with photography and cameras, but it has always intimidated me (you probably hear that a lot) but now with the digital cameras everywhere I think it's time to invest. I have some general questions regarding digital cameras.

1) Is there a large difference in image quality between 3 to 5 MP? or is the difference very small.
2) I only have a 133mhz PC w/ 128 megs of ram, 10gb hdd. Will this be able to handle a new digital camera?
3) I'm new to all of this, but will saving up and buying a G3 be worth it? or buying a 200 dollar camera and learning it first then later investing be better?
4) Where will I host my pictures once I upload them? I've not had much luck with hosting pictures, it never allows me to post the picture in a forum thread without having a link to go somewhere else. I just want the picture to pop up.

Thanks a lot for your help! I heard you guys are the best!
-Cory
coryb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 11, 2003, 9:23 AM   #2

Default Re: Hello, new to the site and also questions! :)

1) Is there a large difference in image quality between 3 to 5 MP? or is the difference very small.
I depends on whether you are going to be printing the photos at a large size or not. Personally I have never really needed any higher resolution than my old 2MP camera (because I mainly view photos on my PC and never print any larger than A4), so when I bought a new camera went for image quality and features over the CCD resolution.

2) I only have a 133mhz PC w/ 128 megs of ram, 10gb hdd. Will this be able to handle a new digital camera?