Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 24, 2006, 11:16 PM   #1

hey all,
so im a complete noob with dslr cameras and since I will hopefully be buying one soon I was wanting some help with lenses. First off what lenses work with what, are there standard connections or something? Secondly, what makes a lense a good lense, and thirdly, what are some good lense company's?
thanks,
- legit
legit is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 25, 2006, 3:51 AM   #2

Each of the manufacturers usually have their own mount and only lenses made for that mount will fit.A few manufactures use a common mount. For example Fuji use the Nikon mount.

Sigma, Tokina, Tamron and Cosina plus a few others are lens makers and make lenses to fit most mounts usually for less money than the original camera manufacturers lenses.

As to what makes a good lens, generally a large maximum aperture for low light, preferably a constant aperture throughout the zoom range. Minimum distortion and chromatic aberation. You can find these by looking for reviews.

As for good manufacturers there isn't really an answer to that. Most make good and bad lenses. You can usually tell the good ones by the price. Sigma have the EX range of lenses which are their better quality and Tokina have the ATX which I believe are their better quality lenses. Canon and Nikon make excellent lenses but also make lesser quality budget lenses.

Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2006, 7:54 AM   #3

I agree with what was said above. I'll just add that a lens is a tool.
So what lens is "good" doesn't mean that its "good" for you. Buy or borrow some reasonable lenses and try them out. See what things you like to photograph. As you do that, you'll find what lenses you really need (as opposed to want.) You find shots that you'll want to take that your current equipment won't be able to capture.