Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 30, 2006, 6:39 PM   #1

Hello, (just registered, and first post... I love this site... great info for all levels)

Newbie here… I have several questions and looking for some hardware and application help. Be aware I have read a lot, but might be using terms that I still don't have a full understanding of.

Looking to buy Canon PowerShot Pro1. To be used in a stationary indoor environment. I have found an excellent price for a new (not-refurbished) camera only. (No battery, memory card, usb cable, etc…. body with lens only)

Can I:

Get the camera only, use the AC adaptor CA-560 without a battery in the camera?

Get the camera only, us the InPhoto TWAIN driver software from Akond without a Memory card in the camera direct to TWAIN compliant software?

(Application of camera)

This is a hard one to describe….

Can I take pictures of glass-framed art on axis without a polarized filter? I'm planning to drape all visible background around the camera lens (peak through a large sheet) with Black Tuf-Fluck/Velour and light the frame from 3 sides with "full spectrum" light (5000K/92)... off-axis to avoid direct reflection, in a dark room…

Is such a light source naturally polarized, or do I still need to polarize it with some kind of diffuser? I have also thought of getting an anti-glare screen (what you would buy for a computer monitor) and place it in front of the frame….

Unfortunately I can't get rid of the glass, and I need square corners and good color representation so I don't think I can go off axis.

Thank you for your time, and I look forward to see if anyone can point me in the right direction.

TX Luffe
luffeme is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 31, 2006, 1:06 PM   #2

I can't help you with the camera specific questiosn, as I don't know that camera.

But I can say something about photographing art.