Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 9, 2006, 1:42 AM   #1

Im new to photography but I've learn many new stuff within the past few months of researching about it.

My question is the auto focus on dSLR. Example will be the Pentax ist DS has 11 point area AF while the lower line Pentax ist DL has only 3.

Im not really sure what the area AF really does. I have a rough idea but came someone explain it to me? Why is having more area AF better? And is 11 really different and a lot better then having only 3?
superakuma is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 9, 2006, 3:09 AM   #2

It depends a lot on your style of photography. I would guess that most people use the center spot only most of the time. The few times extra focusing dots are helpful are when you have many different objects in a scene at different distances, and you want to focus on one not in the center without having to recompose. To be honest, I use the center spot about 90% of the time, since it takes some extra time to switch between spots; --and recomposing (and a slight manual focusing on occasion) becomes second nature. To each his own, but fewer spots is not a deal breaker for me.

Norm in Fujino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2006, 5:27 AM   #3

I used a film SLR for years with only a centre autofocus point and it was rarely a problem to focus then recompose or focus manually. I now own a Nikon D70 with 5 focus points and quite often use the off centre points but if I had to go back to just 1 I wouldn't be unduly worried.

I'd look at the other differences and then the price difference and decide what you think you'd miss and how much you are prepared to pay for it.
Nagasaki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2006, 1:31 AM   #4