Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 25, 2003, 10:23 AM   #1

Default Please criticize my pics

Hi all!

I am a complete newbie at digital photography. Below is a link where I have uploaded my first pics taken with a Minolta Dimage 7i. Please criticize them!

http://community.webshots.com/album/67540302WSIfiw

I am open to any suggestions that would help me improve my pictures. Also, if you know of any URL and/or books for absolute beginners please tell me about them.

I am especially interested in taking pictures of nature, both landscapes and close-up of flowers, butterflies and birds (I have a had a though time trying to get pics of these last two :? ).

Thanks in advance,

Rualina
Rualina is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 25, 2003, 12:18 PM   #2

First pic is over exposed and needs adjusting with levels or hitogram functions. Good use of reflection.

2nd pic rather boring with nothing of real interest but technically ok.

3rd - the flower is far too small, zoom in or get closer.

4th - utterly boring with nothing of interest. Picture cut in half, look-up the rule of thirds.

5th - the building is over exposed and glaringly bright. Try bracketing with difficult situations like this or spot expose on the white. Some adjustment in levels might help.
steve6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2003, 12:32 PM   #3

Default Thanks!

Hi Steve,

Thanks a lot for your comments and advice! I really appreciate them!

Right now I am reading about the Rule of Thirds

Rualina
Old Mar 25, 2003, 10:13 PM   #4

As for web sites where you can learn stuff, here are a few links that I've collected:

http://www.betterphoto.com/home.asp

Specifically look in the "articles" link on the left. There is a *huge* wealth of info at this site.

http://www.shortcourses.com/.