Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 2, 2006, 9:22 PM   #1

I'm not a newbie but this question seems to me like it whould have a simple answer that i'm missing so i'll post it here. I understand all the technology, i just don't have much experience in actual picture taking.

I have a Nikon coolpix 4600 and a new Canon A620. So far i've taken a bunch of indoor people shots and the Canon shots seem much fuzzier than the nikon shots. Focus on things like a person's hair (or the hairs of the long haired cat sitting on their lap) seem to be much sharper on the nikon than the Canon. Why would this be?

These shots were all taken with automatic settings. Both are handheld shots but with steady hands. Neither camera complained about low lighting or shake issues. both cameras ended up taking shots at 1/60 and fstop 2.8ish. The nikon used iso 50 but the canon doesn't seem to save an iso rating to exif.

I plan on doing some more tests of my own and then making shots available online but I thought maybe someone had some quick idea what could be going on. I know some cameras perform more in-camera processing such as sharpening but I didn't think it would be this noticeable.

And if the problem is just that Canon cameras do less sharpening processing than Nikons, what is a good program for me to use for post processing some sharpening?

Thank you for your time.
KevinCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 3, 2006, 1:00 AM   #2

I would be interested to see some of the photos. Don't strip the EXIF.

SharpControl is far and away the best free sharpening tool I know of. It is under corrections: http://www.photo-freeware.net/category-downloads.php You can find a tutorial and a good comparison of SharpControl with some top of the line sharpeners you pay for if you do a Google search.

slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2006, 5:34 AM   #3
Administrator