Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 9, 2006, 5:42 PM   #1

This may be a really dumb question but please bare with me as I am new to digital photography and have ALOT to learn!!

My question is: Is there a big difference in picture quality between two cameras with different MP's anda simularzoom? In other words, say you're comparing a Fuji Finepix S5200 and a Fuji Finepix S9000. One has 5 MP's and a 10X zoom and the other has 9 MP's and a 10.7X zoom. Is there alot of difference in the grain of the photo when comparing both cameras? I'm talking regular(4X6) photos. Is there a great deal of difference in an enlarged phot? Say, an 8X10?? :?

Does anyone have photos I could look at and compare? Thanks so much!! Hope my questions were not too out there!! :?

barrelracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 9, 2006, 5:51 PM   #2
Administrator

barrelracer wrote:
Quote:
Does anyone have photos I could look at and compare?
We have samples in every review here (last page of each review), and you'll usually find some of the same subjects in each camera's samples to make them easier to compare:

http://www.steves-digicams.com/hardware_reviews.html

JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2006, 5:58 PM   #3

Thanks Jim!

One more question..If you use the highest ISO setting on both cameras(1600), will the 9 MP's be sharper than the 5 MP's? I know that the higher the ISO the grainier the photo. Just wondering if higher MP cameras help this?
Old Apr 9, 2006, 6:28 PM   #4
Administrator

barrelracer wrote:
Quote:
One more question..If you use the highest ISO setting on both cameras(1600), will the 9 MP's be sharper than the 5 MP's? I know that the higher the ISO the grainier the photo. Just wondering if higher MP cameras help this?
I don't think you *really* want to use ISO 1600 from these cameras (at least not at larger print sizes).